## Police Mutual Assurance Society Limited

Police Mutual's Annual General Meeting (AGM) took place on Monday, 28 September 2020. In what was the final AGM prior to the transfer to Royal London on 1 October, the symbolic event took place via a webinar due to the coronavirus pandemic and associated new legislation.

As in previous years, there were a number of resolutions voted on by delegates and elections to the Committee of Management, as well as a review of the financial performance, a presentation of future plans from Royal London's CEO Barry O'Dwyer and an online Q&A session.

Following the completion of the transfer to Royal London on 1 October, the Committee of Management ceased to exist and was replaced by an Oversight Committee. So, technically, the effect of the elections was only for a few days, but the AGM was a legal requirement.

Also, to begin with, the Oversight Committee comprises the current Committee of Management members to ensure continuity of police input and oversight as the business transitions to Royal London's ownership.

And, although it is not a constitutional or decision making body, the Oversight Committee will carry out a similar role to the Committee of Management. Its input and oversight of relationships with the police service, the FAO/AO network, benevolent and wellbeing activities and brand and product and service provision continues. Royal London recognises the importance of the role played by the Committee and is fully supportive of it.

## Here is a summary of the vote results:

- Police Mutual Vice President, Michael Cunningham QPM, Chief Executive Officer – College of Policing, was elected as President
- The following Vice Presidents were re-elected to the Committee of Management: Simon Cole (Chief Constable Leicestershire Police); Andy Cooke (Chief Constable Merseyside Police); Charlie Hall (Chief Constable Hertfordshire Constabulary); Gareth Morgan (Chief Constable Staffordshire Police); Sir Jon Murphy (formerly Chief Constable Merseyside Police); and Fiona Taylor (Deputy Chief Constable, Police Scotland)

- As Police Mutual's Chief Executive, John Perks was elected to the Committee of Management
- Eight existing members the Committee of Management were re-elected to serve on the Committee of Management. These were Claire Beck (Cambridgeshire Constabulary), David Campbell (formerly West Yorkshire Police), John Edwards (Dyfed Powys), Carwyn Evans (formerly South Wales Police), Martin Guest (formerly Humberside Police), Kirsty Norman (Derbyshire Constabulary), Graham Smillie (formerly Police Scotland) and leuan Watkins (formerly Gwent Police)
- Paul Bishop, Julie Hopes, John Lister and Barry Sanjana were all re-elected as suitably qualified individuals to the Committee of Management. This ensures Police Mutual has access to external professional financial and commercial advice
- Deloitte LLP was appointed as the Auditor of the Society for the ensuing year.

## Other business carried out at the AGM included:

- Receiving the 2019 Annual Accounts, Report of the Committee of Management and Auditor's Report
- Approving the 2019 Directors' Remuneration Report