

Annual General Meeting 2018

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of Police Mutual Assurance Society Limited took place at The Carden Park Hotel, Chester on Friday 4 May 2018.

As in previous years there were a number of changes and re-elections to the Committee of Management at this year's AGM. The objective of the Committee of Management is to set the values of the organisation, overseeing its reputation and relationships with the Police Service and expressing what members want from Police Mutual in terms of products and services, ensuring Police Mutual continues to meet the needs of the Police Service for whom and by whom it was established. The changes and re-elections are listed below:

Sir Hugh Orde, formerly President of the Association of Chief Police Officers was re-elected as President.

Three existing Vice Presidents were re-elected. These were Simon Cole, Mike Cunningham and Sir Jon Murphy. Charlie Hall was also elected to the Committee of Management as a Vice President.

As Police Mutual's Chief Executive, Stephen Mann was re-elected to the Committee of Management.

Eight existing members of the Committee of Management were re-elected. These were Claire Beck, David Campbell, Carwyn Evans, Martin Guest, Robin Hardiman, Kirsty Norman, Graham Smillie and Ieuan Watkins. John Edwards was newly elected as a member of the Committee of Management.

To ensure that Police Mutual has access to external professional financial and commercial advice, Paul Bishop, Julie Hopes, John Lister, Barry Sanjana and Julie Spence were all reelected as non-executive directors. Richard Coates stood down as a non-executive director, having served on the Committee of Management since 2007 and we are grateful for the support he has given to Police Mutual during this time.

Other business carried out at the AGM included:

- Receiving the 2017 Annual Accounts, Report of the Committee of Management and Auditor's Report
- Approving the 2017 Directors' Remuneration Report
- Re-appointing PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as Auditors of Police Mutual

At the Conference the Committee of Management also re-appointed Julie Spence as its Chair.